Last updated: 2026-08-21
Honest Taskers, HealthStream, and Verisys lead this year's shortlist of medical credentialing companies, nine firms ranked on accreditation standing, whether they do verification or payer enrollment, published pricing, enrollment depth, and stated scale. Credentialing is two different jobs wearing one name, and most practices searching for it want the job the market's biggest names aren't built for. Below we set out which job you need, verification or enrollment, what happens when a provider sees patients before their effective date, what a plan costs per provider, which body accredits the vendor, and whether CAQH attestation is current.
Disclosure: Honest Taskers publishes this list and appears at position 1. We're judged on the same five published criteria as every other company here, and we are not a credentials verification organization, which is stated in our entry rather than buried.
At a glance
- 1Honest Taskers
- 2HealthStream
- 3Verisys
- 4Andros
- 5symplr
- 6Medallion
- 7CureMD
- 8Physician Practice Specialists
- 9Neolytix
On this page
- How we chose these companies
- Companies compared
- The 9 companies
- Which credentialing job do you need, verification or enrollment?
- What happens when credentialing lags a provider's first patient?
- What does credentialing cost per plan per provider?
- Which body accredits the credentialing vendor, and through what date?
- Is CAQH attestation current before credentialing is submitted?
- Methodology and sources
How we chose these companies
Credentialing describes two jobs. Primary source verification is a regulated function: confirming licenses, education, training, sanctions, and history directly with the issuing source, to a standard a health plan or hospital will accept. Whether a vendor holds accreditation from the National Committee for Quality Assurance or URAC decides whether its files are acceptable for delegated arrangements at all. Payer enrollment is a chase: applications, CAQH attestations, follow-up calls, resubmissions, and a spreadsheet of effective dates that determines when a provider can start billing.
Most practices typing this search want the second job. Their new physician started three weeks ago, four payers haven't responded, and revenue is accruing against panels the provider isn't on yet. That's an administrative persistence problem, not a verification problem. Meanwhile several of the largest firms in this category are built primarily for the first, serving health plans and hospital systems, so a small practice ends up buying an enterprise verification platform to solve a follow-up problem.
So we ranked on accreditation standing first, because it's binary and it decides eligibility for delegated work, then enrollment depth, then pricing transparency, then stated scale. Two firms here display specific accreditation, one names certified CVO services, and several don't state accreditation on the pages we reviewed, which is recorded as exactly that rather than assumed either way.
Pricing is almost entirely opaque. One firm publishes a per-plan-per-provider figure and one publishes an hourly rate. The rest quote, which makes enrollment cost per provider genuinely difficult to compare without running a process. That's worth knowing before you start.
Companies compared
| Company | Model | Accreditation (as stated) | Published pricing | Enrollment included | Scale (company-reported) |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Honest Taskers | Dedicated credentialing coordinator, hourly staffing | None; not a CVO | $10.00 to $12.65/hr | Yes, the chase is the role | 99.6% average monthly retention |
| HealthStream | CredentialStream platform plus CVO | States NCQA-certified CVO services | Not publicly listed | Yes | CVO serving clients since 1998 |
| Verisys | Outsourced credentialing and monitoring | States NCQA-accredited CVO | Not publicly listed | Confirm directly | More than two million outsourced credentialing events annually |
| Andros | CVO plus network build and management | Displays URAC CVO accreditation valid through 04/01/2028 | Not publicly listed | Yes | 300k credentials annually; 200+ networks in all 50 states |
| symplr | Enterprise platform plus CVO services | Not stated on the CVO page reviewed | Not publicly listed | Yes | 9 out of 10 hospitals and health systems use its solutions |
| Medallion | Credentialing, licensing, and enrollment platform | Not stated on the page reviewed | Not publicly listed | Yes | 300+ healthcare organizations |
| CureMD | Credentialing bundled with EHR and RCM | States HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II, ONC-certified | Not publicly listed | Yes | 40,000+ providers across all 50 states |
| Physician Practice Specialists | Packaged enrollment for smaller practices | Not stated | Packages average $200 per plan per provider | Yes | Tiered packages from 5 to 35 plans |
| Neolytix | Credentialing within wider practice services | Not stated as accreditation; ISO 27001 certified | Not publicly listed | Yes | 270+ organizations served |
1. Honest Taskers
Best for: practices whose real problem is that nobody is chasing payers every day.
Pricing: $10.00 to $12.65/hrModel: Staffed coordinatorScope: Enrollment and follow-upFirst hire: Two-week working trial
Honest Taskers places a credentialing coordinator into your practice, and for the enrollment problem that's usually the right shape of answer. Enrollment isn't won by a platform, it's won by someone working a list every morning: submitting applications, keeping CAQH profiles attested and current, calling payers to find out why a file is sitting, chasing effective dates, tracking expirables, and telling you which providers can bill which plans as of today. That's a role, not a product, and it's the role we staff.
Coordinators work the client's US time zone, which matters because payer provider-relations lines only answer during business hours. Recruiting is in the Philippines, Latin America, India and Pakistan under US-based management. Compliance runs on quarterly HIPAA and data privacy training led by a dedicated compliance officer, a Business Associate Agreement signed where the professional will access PHI, remote work screening covering a dedicated password-protected computer with VPN and antivirus requirements, and a security environment described as SOC 2 audit ready, with HIPAA compliance verified by Accountable. Reported retention is 99.6% average monthly, and continuity matters here because a coordinator who has already spoken to your payer contacts twenty times gets answers faster than a new one. Rates run $10.00 to $12.65 an hour with a two-week working trial on the first hire.
Limitation: we are not a credentials verification organization. We hold no NCQA or URAC accreditation, we don't perform primary source verification to a delegated standard, and if you need accredited verification files a health plan will accept under a delegated arrangement, buy from an accredited CVO on this list.
2. HealthStream
Best for: hospitals and larger groups wanting certified verification services alongside a credentialing platform.
Pricing: Not publicly listedModel: Platform plus CVOAccreditation: States NCQA-certified CVO servicesHistory: CVO since 1998
HealthStream pairs its CredentialStream platform with verification services and states NCQA-certified CVO services, reporting CVO operation since 1998. For an organization that needs both the system of record and the verification work performed to an accepted standard, having both from one vendor removes the handoff that causes most credentialing file disputes. Enrollment is included in scope, so it can serve both jobs described above.
Limitation: no pricing is published and the platform is built for organizational scale, so a two-physician practice is unlikely to be the intended buyer.
3. Verisys
Best for: organizations needing accredited verification plus continuous sanctions monitoring.
Pricing: Not publicly listedModel: Outsourced credentialing and monitoringAccreditation: States NCQA-accredited CVOScale: 2M+ credentialing events annually
Verisys states NCQA accreditation as a credentials verification organization and reports more than two million outsourced credentialing events annually, with ongoing monitoring alongside initial verification. Monitoring is the part organizations under-buy: a license lapse or a new sanction between credentialing cycles is exactly the exposure that continuous screening exists to catch, and it's the failure that becomes a serious problem rather than an administrative one.
Limitation: enrollment inclusion isn't clearly stated and should be confirmed directly, and no pricing is published.
4. Andros
Best for: organizations building or managing provider networks, not just credentialing individuals.
Pricing: Not publicly listedModel: CVO plus network buildAccreditation: URAC CVO accreditation displayed through 04/01/2028Scale: 300k credentials annually
Andros displays URAC accreditation as a credentials verification organization valid through April 1, 2028, which is the most specific accreditation disclosure on this list, and reports around 300,000 credentials annually across 200 or more networks in all 50 states. Its distinguishing capability is network build and management alongside verification, which suits payers, digital health companies, and groups assembling panels rather than credentialing a handful of new hires.
Limitation: network-scale positioning means a small practice adding one physician is well outside the core use case, and no pricing is published.
5. symplr
Best for: hospitals standardising credentialing inside a wider provider data platform.
Pricing: Not publicly listedModel: Enterprise platform plus CVOAccreditation: Not stated on the page reviewedScale: 9 in 10 hospitals and health systems
symplr reports that nine out of ten US hospitals and health systems use its solutions, and offers CVO services alongside its enterprise platform, with enrollment in scope. At hospital scale the attraction is consolidation: credentialing, privileging, and provider data managed in one system that the medical staff office, quality, and contracting all work from, rather than three systems and a reconciliation problem.
Limitation: the CVO page we reviewed doesn't state accreditation, so ask for it explicitly if delegated credentialing is the goal, and no pricing is published.
6. Medallion
Best for: multi-state groups managing credentialing, licensing, and enrollment together.
Pricing: Not publicly listedModel: Credentialing, licensing, enrollment platformAccreditation: Not stated on the page reviewedScale: 300+ healthcare organizations
Medallion handles credentialing, licensing, and payer enrollment on one platform and reports serving 300 or more healthcare organizations. Licensing alongside enrollment is the useful combination for telehealth and multi-state groups, where a provider's ability to see patients in a state and their ability to bill a plan in that state are two separate clocks that both have to be tracked, and missing either one stops revenue.
Limitation: accreditation isn't stated on the page reviewed and no pricing is published, so both need establishing directly.
7. CureMD
Best for: practices that want credentialing bundled with their EHR and billing.
Pricing: Not publicly listedModel: Credentialing with EHR and RCMCompliance: HIPAA, SOC 2 Type II, ONC-certifiedScale: 40,000+ providers
CureMD bundles credentialing with its EHR and revenue cycle services and reports supporting more than 40,000 providers across all 50 states, stating HIPAA compliance, SOC 2 Type II, and ONC certification. Bundling has a practical benefit here that's easy to miss: when the same vendor holds your enrollment data and your billing, a provider's effective date reaches the billing side without anyone having to remember to pass it on, which is a common cause of denied early claims.
Limitation: no CVO accreditation is stated, so this is enrollment and administration rather than delegated verification, and bundling ties credentialing to a wider platform decision.
8. Physician Practice Specialists
Best for: small practices that want a fixed price per plan and no platform to adopt.
Pricing: Packages average $200 per plan per providerModel: Packaged enrollmentAccreditation: Not statedPackages: 5 to 35 plans
Physician Practice Specialists sells packaged payer enrollment with published pricing averaging $200 per plan per provider, in tiers from five to 35 plans. It's the only firm here that lets a practice work out the cost of getting a new physician onto ten payers before speaking to anyone, which for a two-provider practice is worth more than most feature comparisons. The scope is the chase rather than verification, and it's priced to match.
Limitation: no accreditation is stated and the model is enrollment-only, so it won't serve delegated credentialing or ongoing monitoring needs.
9. Neolytix
Best for: practices already outsourcing billing that want credentialing from the same vendor.
Pricing: Not publicly listedModel: Credentialing within practice servicesCompliance: ISO 27001 certifiedScale: 270+ organizations
Neolytix handles credentialing and provider enrollment alongside billing, coding audit, licensing, and virtual assistants, reporting 270 or more organizations served across 31 specialties and 40 states, with explicit small-practice tiers and ISO 27001 certification. For a practice that already has a billing relationship there, adding credentialing avoids a separate vendor for a function that only produces a handful of events a year.
Limitation: credentialing is one service among many rather than the specialism, no CVO accreditation is stated, and no pricing is published.
Which credentialing job do you need, verification or enrollment?
Verification if a health plan or hospital has to accept the files, and enrollment if you know which plans you need. Buy an accredited CVO for the first, and more so under a delegated credentialing arrangement. Accreditation is the whole point of the purchase; without it the files may not be usable for the purpose you bought them for.
Buy packaged enrollment when you know exactly which plans you need and want a predictable price per plan. At around $200 per plan per provider, getting one physician onto ten panels is a knowable number, which is a relief in a category where almost nothing is priced publicly.
Staff a coordinator when credentialing is continuous rather than a project: providers joining and leaving, expirables coming due, CAQH attestations lapsing, and a payer follow-up list that never empties. A person doing this every morning at $10.00 to $12.65 an hour beats a platform nobody has time to work, and beats an enrollment package when the volume is steady rather than occasional. Many groups end up with a coordinator plus an accredited CVO for the verification piece, which is not indecision but the correct answer to two different problems.
What happens when credentialing lags a provider's first patient?
The claims cannot be salvaged, because a provider seeing patients before their effective date bills into a period nobody will pay for.
- Buying verification when the actual problem was payer follow-up, or the reverse.
- Assuming a vendor is accredited because it uses the phrase CVO. Ask which body, and through what date.
- Providers seeing patients before their effective date, which produces claims that can't be salvaged.
- CAQH profiles going un-attested, which quietly stalls every application behind it.
- Expirables missed between cycles, including licenses, DEA registrations, and malpractice coverage.
- Sanctions appearing mid-cycle with no continuous monitoring to catch them.
- Effective dates never reaching the billing team, so early claims deny.
- Multi-state groups tracking licensure and enrollment on one clock instead of two.
- Enterprise platforms sold to practices too small to work them.
What does credentialing cost per plan per provider?
Around $200 for packaged enrollment, which makes ten plans for one new physician roughly $2,000 as a one-time cost. Two published figures exist on this list, packaged enrollment averaging $200 per plan per provider, and $10.00 to $12.65 an hour for a staffed coordinator. Every other firm quotes on request, which makes this one of the least transparent categories in healthcare administration.
Use the published numbers as your yardstick. Ten plans for one new physician at $200 each is roughly $2,000 as a one-time cost, which you can compare against a coordinator's hourly rate over the same period. The comparison flips with volume: a practice credentialing two providers a year is better served buying packages, while a group with rolling hires, multiple states, and a constant expirables calendar gets more from a person who owns the whole list. What tends to dominate either number is the revenue lost while a provider isn't yet on panels, which is why speed is worth paying for. Rates move, so confirm before you sign.
Which body accredits the credentialing vendor, and through what date?
Ask for both, because the phrase CVO is not itself an accreditation and the files are only usable for the purpose you bought them for if it is real.
- Which job you're buying, verification or enrollment, stated in the contract.
- Accreditation named specifically, with the accrediting body and expiry date.
- Whether ongoing monitoring for sanctions and expirables is included.
- Cost per plan per provider, however the vendor prefers to price.
- Who owns CAQH attestation and how often it's checked.
- How effective dates reach your billing team.
- Turnaround expectations by payer type, and what happens when a payer stalls.
- Whether licensure tracking is included for multi-state work.
- Reporting that shows, per provider, which plans are live today.
Is CAQH attestation current before credentialing is submitted?
Fix it first, because an un-attested profile quietly stalls every application queued behind it.
- List every provider and every plan, and mark which combinations are live today.
- Decide whether your problem is verification standard or follow-up persistence.
- Count how many enrollment events you'll have in the next twelve months.
- If it's a handful, price packaged enrollment first.
- If it's continuous, price a coordinator against those packages.
- Ask any CVO for its accrediting body and expiry date in writing.
- Fix CAQH attestation before submitting anything new.
- Set up a single report showing live plans per provider.
- Review effective dates against billing monthly, not quarterly.
Methodology and sources
We verified each company at its own website on August 21, 2026, recording model, stated accreditation, published pricing, whether payer enrollment is included, and stated scale. Where a page didn't state accreditation, the entry says "not stated on the page reviewed" rather than concluding a firm lacks it, because accreditation may be published elsewhere on a large site. Accreditation standards referenced are those of the National Committee for Quality Assurance and URAC. Figures a company reports about itself, including volumes and client counts, are labeled company-reported. CertifyOS was reviewed and left out of the ranking because its positioning is provider data infrastructure for health plans rather than credentialing services for provider organizations.
Related administrative staffing guides
If a coordinator is the likely answer, our multi-purpose virtual medical assistant page covers how administrative roles are staffed and supervised.
If billing and credentialing overlap in your practice, our virtual medical billing page sets out that scope.
Speak with Honest Taskers about staffing your credentialing.
